Monday, December 28, 2015

Review: For Sure and Certain

For this review, I chose For Sure and Certain by Anya Monroe.

I received a copy of the ebook for a honest review of this book.

Here is a brief description from Goodreads:
***She knits, cans jam, and lives in the city. He’s an Amish college student, breaking the rules. They're so right, it's wrong.***

Marigold, a recent high school graduate with a shady past, is looking to redefine herself. She doesn’t know what she wants exactly, but college isn’t it.

When she meets Abel, an Amish guy on Rumspringa, his ‘running around’ time, she doesn’t plan on falling for someone wearing a straw hat and suspenders. But she can't help it, Abel is the breath of fresh air she's been waiting for.

Abel, who’s moved to the city for a summer program at Jamestown, never imagined Marigold would be drawn to the life he was trying so hard to avoid. His family expects him to take over the family farm; college parties and dorm life don’t quite fit in with their plans for him.

Opposites attract, but nothing is easy with love. When they trade places for the summer they learn a life together isn’t as for sure and certain as they thought.
 


This was my first book by Anya Monroe.  I think it was my first book on the Amish.  It was nice seeing the differences that they live their lives.

Marigold is confused about her future.  She does not know what she wants to do and she does not want to go to college and waste her parents money.  She meets Abel, a Amish man on Rumspringa and they become good friends.  Abel takes her home for a weekend and Marigold decides she wants to stay.  She is soul searching.  Trying to decide who she is and what she wants.  She needs 8 weeks away from her life in DC.  His parents agree.  Marigold works for his mother, who is the sweetest woman I have read about.  His mother wants to open a yard store and Marigold is going to help with that.  I love how this yard store is all natural.  No chemicals, etc.  Made from the sheep they have at their farm.  Dyed right there.

Marigold and Abel has a lot in common.  They both have their family's pressure of what they think they should do with their lives.

I think this was well written with characters I could see in real dealing with not knowing who they should be when they are older.  The characters are believeable.  

I kept thinking about could I do what Marigold did?  Go live with an amish family to find yourself.  I think I would be okay for 8 weeks, but I know I could not do it permanently.  Could you?  No AC, no electric, no internet, no computers.  I love my laptop a lot.  I do give it up at times for when I have the kids and I take a step back from technology. 

☆☆☆☆☆
I give this book 5 out of 5 stars.
Recommend this book? Yes! Author? Yes!
Read more from this author? Yes!

Happy Reading!
Melissa 
Review coming next: Meditations through Coloring and published by River Grove Books

FTC Disclosure: The Publisher/Author/Book Tour Company has provided me with a copy of this book for review or I have purchased the book with my own funds.  The opinion I share about the story are mine and have not been influenced by the The Publisher/Author/Book Tour Company if received for review.

Sunday, December 27, 2015

Review: Wild Cowboy Ways

For this review, I chose Wild Cowboy Ways by Carolyn Brown.  This was my first book I read by this author.

I received a copy of the ebook for a honest review of this book.

Here is a brief description from Goodreads:
SOMETIMES ALL LOVE NEEDS IS A LITTLE LUCK

Allie Logan isn't the type to land a hot hunk of cowboy. Truth is, she's given up on dating since shedding her no-good ex. But the new owner of the most ramshackle ranch in Texas might just change her mind about that. He's six-foot-plus of tall, dark, and charming—the kind of guy who could make a girl throw caution to the wind . . . or the kind of guy who could break her heart.

Blake Dawson hopes he can make Lucky Penny Ranch finally live up to its name, but the property needs a ton of work. Allie and her carpentry skills are his best shot at getting things in order. Besides the fact that her brown eyes and dangerous curves have him roped and tied. Now Blake only needs to convince her that a wild cowboy can be tamed by love—and she's just the one to do it.
 

I fell in love with Blake and Allie.  Allie is a carpenter and is not afraid to get dirty.  Blake, his brother, and cousin brought the Lucky Penny Ranch in hopes of making a good profit, but the entire town feels that the Lucky Penny is not so lucky.  Blake does not allow that to get him down.  He is going to make the Lucky Penny be a Ranch and nothing will stop him.

This book is set in Dry Creek, Texas where everyone knows everything.  You have to love small towns.  I have 2 favorite things in this book.  The first is Irene, the grandmother of Allie.  She was something else.  Never boring when she is around.  Add in dementia and her worlds were messed up a lot of the time.  She kept thinking Blake was Walter, but no one knew what she was talking about.  Irene would come to Lucky Penny and be talking about Walter so Blake called the only number he had, the Local Feed store.  Allie shows up to get her grandmother.  I wanted to know more about this Walter, but it added so much to the story.

My second favorite part of this book is the end.  I am not going to talk about it in details because I do not want to give away any detail.  The part of love the most is when they are talking about songs.  Our song was mentioned and it warmed my heart by reminding me of my wedding day.

I can not wait for Book #2,  Hot Cowboy Nights.  I can not wait to read this one.  I loved this book a lot.  I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who wants to read a great book!!

☆☆☆☆☆
I give this book 5 out of 5 stars.
Recommend this book? Yes! Author? Yes!
Read more from this author? Yes!

Happy Reading!
Melissa 
Review coming next: For Sure and Certain by Anya Monroe

FTC Disclosure: The Publisher/Author/Book Tour Company has provided me with a copy of this book for review or I have purchased the book with my own funds.  The opinion I share about the story are mine and have not been influenced by the The Publisher/Author/Book Tour Company if received for review.

Thursday, December 24, 2015

Blitz Release: Wild Cowboy Ways


CAROLYN BROWN
New York Times and USA Today bestselling romance author and RITA® Finalist, Carolyn Brown, has published more than sixty books.
Brown presently writes both women's fiction and cowboy romance. She has also written historical single title, historical series, contemporary single title and contemporary series. She lives in southern Oklahoma with her husband, a former English teacher, who is not allowed to read her books until they are published. They have three children and enough grandchildren to keep them young.


GIVEAWAY
There are TWO giveaways featured here, please include BOTH. Thank you!

#1

#2: Sign up for Carolyn Brown's Newsletter and enter to win a pearl & diamond necklace!

WILD COWBOY WAYS
SOMETIMES ALL LOVE NEEDS IS A LITTLE LUCKAllie Logan isn't the type to land a hot hunk of cowboy. Truth is, she's given up on dating since shedding her no-good ex. But the new owner of the most ramshackle ranch in Texas might just change her mind about that. He's six-foot-plus of tall, dark, and charming-the kind of guy who could make a girl throw caution to the wind . . . or the kind of guy who could break her heart.

Blake Dawson hopes he can make Lucky Penny Ranch finally live up to its name, but the property needs a ton of work. Allie and her carpentry skills are his best shot at getting things in order. Besides the fact that her brown eyes and dangerous curves have him roped and tied. Now Blake only needs to convince her that a wild cowboy can be tamed by love-and she's just the one to do it . . .


EXCERPT
“You are one wicked lady,” Blake smiled.
“Not me!” Her smile was straight from heaven. “I’m just a carpenter who fixes roofs and does remodel jobs on houses.”
“A beautiful, sexy carpenter who looks right gorgeous with a hammer in her hands,” Blake said.
“Y’all going to jaw all day in there or are we going to watch our movie?” Deke called out.
“We’re on the way and I don’t want to hear a word about my socks,” Allie made her way from kitchen to living room.
Blake kicked off his boots and settled on the other end of the long leather sofa from Allie. Halfway though the movie she pulled her legs up and stretched them out toward him and he did the same, situating his on the outside. He moved his right one slightly so that it touched hers and she didn’t jerk it away or give him a dirty look.
Progress! By damn! That was progress.
A month ago he would have been telling some woman goodbye that he’d spent the weekend with, maybe saying that he’d call her with no intentions of never doing so. Or maybe she’d walk him to the door and tell him that it had been fun but one weekend of fun with him was all a woman could handle. Tonight he was almost shouting because Allie hadn’t moved her leg away from his. Toby would believe it or understand if he tried to tell him and forget about saying anything to Jud. He was the loudest of the three about staying a bachelor until his dying breath.
“I’m pausing the show for a bathroom break. I’ll bring in some beers on my way back,” Deke said.
Allie shifted positions and her foot touched his hip. He picked it up and put it in his lap and began to massage it and suddenly, things weren’t boring at all.
“God, that feels good,” she said.
“I’m not God,” Blake said.
“You know what I mean.”
He pulled the other foot over and worked on it. “You are too tense, woman. Loosen up and enjoy life.”
She eased her feet back and tucked them under her, pulling the sweater dress down to cover them.
“He’s right,” Deke set three beers on the coffee table and settled back into the recliner. “You should have more fun.”
“Y’all are ganging up on me,” she said. “Turn the movie back on. I like Crazy Cora more and more as the story plays out. I don’t think she’s nearly as crazy as everyone thinks.”
Layers, Deke had said. Was one of Allie’s layers nothing but a protective coating against men since her husband left her?

Review: Series by Samantha Chase

For this review, I chose the 3 pack of ebooks by Samantha Chase of her series called Life, Love and Babies.

I requested ARC copy of the ebook through Netgalley in exchanged for a honest review.

Normally I put up a description from Goodreads, but since their is 3 books with this review, I will pick up the link for the entire series and you can click to go read them all.  Click HERE.



This series is called Life, Love and Babies and is wonderful.  The first book is called The Baby Arrangement.  Book #2 is Baby, I'm Yours.  Book #3 is Baby, Be Mine.

With The Baby Arrangement, Derek Sloan has the surprise of his life.  A baby was dropped off to his office, but he does not know if he or his brother is the baby's father.  The baby is crying while he and his secretary are talking about the baby and what to do, Kayleigh Mitchell comes into his office to have the baby stop crying.  Things get intense from that point on.  This is my favorite book of this series.  It pulled so many strings.

With Baby, I'm Yours, Nicole Taylor is having a pre-wedding dinner for her best friend and her fiance along with the best man.  This is so the best man and the maid of honor can meet, but they have met.  Josh Masterson lied about his name the night they met.  Now Nicole has to deal with the father of her child being in their life.  Can they work past some issues they both have for their daughter or will they crash and burn?  This is my second favorite of the series.  So much emotions. 


With Baby, Be Mine, Jake Knight comes home to find infant twins on his porch.   He has no idea how to care for these twins.  Jake comes the one woman that he broke her heart to help him.  Will they work through their problems from the past?  This book once again had me hooked from the first page. 

☆☆☆☆☆
I give this book 5 out of 5 stars.
Recommend this book? Yes! Author? Yes!
Read more from this author? Yes!

Happy Reading!
Melissa 
Review coming next: Wild Cowboy Ways by Carolyn Brown

FTC Disclosure: The Publisher/Author/Book Tour Company has provided me with a copy of this book for review or I have purchased the book with my own funds.  The opinion I share about the story are mine and have not been influenced by the The Publisher/Author/Book Tour Company if received for review.

Wednesday, December 23, 2015

Review: Spirit Returned

For this review, I chose Spirit Returned, which is the 4th book of the Whisper Cove Series and the first book I have read by Cyndi Faria.  
Book #1- Spirit  Awakened 
Book #2- Spirit Released
Book #3- Spirit Embraced

I received a copy of the ebook for a honest review of this book.

Here is a brief description from Goodreads:
Open your heart to the road home... 

“Faria's Whisper Cove series blends compelling suspense with an engaging romance!” –New York Times and USA Todaybestselling author, Virna DePaul

The exciting continuation of the Whisper Cove series continues with Mason and Katrina's story....Mason Jayme is rumored to be a healer and the one prophesied to save his hometown of Whisper Cove from an ancient Lover’s Curse. Until that curse is broken, however, he has no business taking a lover—a lesson harshly learned after Mason sleeps with his first love, Katrina Rendon. Believing he’s the reason Katrina was burned and scarred, Mason leaves Whisper Cove, rejecting any notion he can be good for anyone, let alone a whole town.
Katrina was far more devastated by Mason’s rejection than the injuries she sustained in a fire. She wants nothing to do with him—until her father falls ill, and the only way to save him is with Mason’s healing skills. When Mason returns to Whisper Cove, he promises not only to help her father but to help Katrina open her burn victim retreat. Once reunited, the passion between Katrina and Mason sparks higher than ever.
But when Katrina’s soul is threatened by an Original Spirt who has claimed Mason’s body as his own, she’s caught in a whirlwind of spirit possessions and secret rituals. This time, Mason’s ready to risk death by fire in order to save Katrina and their love.


“[Cyndi Faria] has a talent for lovely happy endings and I'm so glad she does.” –Night Owl Reviews
 



This is my favorite paranormal book series.  The first book had me hooked and book #2 just got me pulled into the series even more.  Now with Book #3 and book #4, I could not wait to see what else this author had for us readers.  I was not disappointed.  I loved the story behind Mason and Katrina.  Once again, I love the mixture of suspense and mystery with some Romance.  I can not wait to read book #4.
☆☆☆☆☆
I give this book 5 out of 5 stars.
Recommend this book? Yes! Author? Yes!
Read more from this author? Yes!

Happy Reading!
Melissa 
Review coming next: Life, Love and Babies Series by Samantha Chase

FTC Disclosure: The Publisher/Author/Book Tour Company has provided me with a copy of this book for review or I have purchased the book with my own funds.  The opinion I share about the story are mine and have not been influenced by the The Publisher/Author/Book Tour Company if received for review.

Review: Spirit Embraced

For this review, I chose Spirit Embraced, which is the 3rd book of the Whisper Cove Series and the first book I have read by Cyndi Faria.  
Book #1- Spirit  Awakened 
Book #2- Spirit Released
Book #4- Spirit Returned

I received a copy of the ebook for a honest review of this book.

Here is a brief description from Goodreads:
In the haunted town of Whisper Cove, who can be trusted?

Detective Thomas Jayme is a single father seeking a stable life for his little girl. Unfortunately, three things complicate his life: the spirits of dead townspeople who are out to fulfill an age-old curse, a cold case involving a woman’s death, and the appearance of a beautiful woman who might know something about both.

Chelsea Wright, a newcomer to Whisper Cove, is determined to keep to herself and spend time with her seventeen-year-old son before he leaves home for good. But when she learns she might know the identity of the murdered woman, Chelsea strikes a deal with Thomas: she’ll take care of his daughter if he’ll help her uncover the connection between her and the cold case.

As Thomas and Chelsea work to solve both his haunted past and her uncertain future, unknown evil threatens their lives. Will they be able to solve the murder, save lives, and fulfill the promise of a smoldering love before it’s too late?
 

This is my favorite paranormal book series.  The first book had me hooked and book #2 just got me pulled into the series even more.  Now with Book #3, I could not wait to see what else this author had for us readers.  I was not disappointed.  I loved this book.  It is my favorite book in this seires.  Once again, I love the mixture of suspense and mystery with some Romance.  I can not wait to read book #4.

☆☆☆☆☆
I give this book 5 out of 5 stars.
Recommend this book? Yes! Author? Yes!
Read more from this author? Yes!

Happy Reading!
Melissa 
Review coming next: Spirit Returned

FTC Disclosure: The Publisher/Author/Book Tour Company has provided me with a copy of this book for review or I have purchased the book with my own funds.  The opinion I share about the story are mine and have not been influenced by the The Publisher/Author/Book Tour Company if received for review.

Review: Spirit Released

For this review, I chose Spirit Released, which is the second book of the Whisper Cove Series and the first book I have read by Cyndi Faria.  
Book #1- Spirit  Awakened 
Book #3- Spirit Embraced
Book #4- Spirit Released
I received a copy of the ebook for a honest review of this book.

Here is a brief description from Goodreads:
In the seaside town of Whisper Cove, a centuries’ old curse tests true love...

On her wedding day, Faith Cabrillo prepares to confess a desperate secret to her fiancĂ©, Jake Mitchell—she’s cursed with both the ability of speaking to the dead . . . and never fulfilling the promise of true love. Before the truth is revealed, Jake’s life is endangered and Faith sacrifices herself to save him.

Grief-stricken, Jake refuses to accept Faith’s comatose state. His innovative research keeps Faith alive, yet he’s faced with his biggest challenge when Faith’s spirit appears with a warning that his life is still in danger. Because Jake’s a man of medicine, he denies his Faith truly exists on two planes. Until he talks to her. And holds her. And begins to hope that he’s wrong.

Will Jake’s devotion and Faith's body and soul be forged by love’s healing power in time to stop a killer before the curse again claims Faith . . . this time forever?
 



This is my favorite paranormal book series.  The first book had me hooked and I could not wait to read book #2 to see if Jake and Faith get married or the curse get them.  Love how we had suspense mixed in with mystery and of course, Romance.  I can not wait to read book #3.

☆☆☆☆☆
I give this book 5 out of 5 stars.
Recommend this book? Yes! Author? Yes!
Read more from this author? Yes!

Happy Reading!
Melissa 
Review coming next: Spirit Embraced

FTC Disclosure: The Publisher/Author/Book Tour Company has provided me with a copy of this book for review or I have purchased the book with my own funds.  The opinion I share about the story are mine and have not been influenced by the The Publisher/Author/Book Tour Company if received for review.

Review: Spirit Awakened

For this review, I chose Spirit Awakened, which is the first book of the Whisper Cove Series and the first book I have read by Cyndi Faria.  
Book #2- Spirit Released
Book #3- Spirit Embraced
Book #4- Spirit Released
I received a copy of the ebook for a honest review of this book.

Here is a brief description from Goodreads:
Even in the darkness, the light still shines...

Jake Mitchell is a neurologist who doesn't trust what can't be explained. That is, until he moves to the rumor-haunted town of Whisper Cove and meets a beautiful nurse named Faith Cabrillo. When Faith awakens Jake's sixth sense that defies science, he's thrown into a world of passion, spirits, and a centuries-old lovers’ curse that can never be broken...
 (

This is my favorite paranormal book series.  The first book had me hooked by the end of the first chapter.  This had me guessing through the entire book.  I loved the suspense of it all and the romance between Jake and Faith.  They are such a sweet couple.


☆☆☆☆☆
I give this book 5 out of 5 stars.
Recommend this book? Yes! Author? Yes!
Read more from this author? Yes!

Happy Reading!
Melissa 
Review coming next: Spirit Released

FTC Disclosure: The Publisher/Author/Book Tour Company has provided me with a copy of this book for review or I have purchased the book with my own funds.  The opinion I share about the story are mine and have not been influenced by the The Publisher/Author/Book Tour Company if received for review.

Review: A Chance of a Lifetime

For this review, I chose A Chance of a Lifetime by Marilyn Pappano.

I requested ARC copy of the ebook through Netgalley in exchanged for a honest review.

Here is a brief description from Goodreads:
To Benita Ford, Tallgrass, Oklahoma, will always be home. It's where her beloved grandmother raised her and where she rode bikes with her two best friends—the man who became her husband and Calvin. And Tallgrass is where she stayed, even after her husband died while serving his country. Now Calvin is home from that same war, and the sensitive, mischievous boy she once knew is today a man scarred by wounds no one else can see. Falling in love with him is something Bennie never imagined.

Tallgrass still haunts Captain Calvin Sweet. Yet it's where he must go to see Bennie—the one woman he always loved but could never have. Calvin regrets so much about what happened years ago. Still he can't deny being with Bennie makes his future feel bright, like anything is possible. But the demons of his past won't be quieted that easily. As old hurts linger, threatening to pull them apart, Calvin and Bennie must take the ultimate risk for the love of a lifetime.


This was such a sweet book about 2 old friends getting to know one another again after a lot of time went by.  Bennie lost her husband and her best friend serving his country.  Calvin was serving his country, too, and came home to see what life is after his military career is over.  Calvin was best friends with both Bennie and her husband.  They both of issues to get through so they can find their way to one another.

The story between Lucy and Joe was different than what was happening with Calvin and Bennie.  Some surprises there.

I love the town of Tallgrass, Oklahoma.  It seems like a great town to be in.
☆☆☆☆☆
I give this book 5 out of 5 stars.
Would I recommend this book? Yes! Author? Yes!
Would I read more from this author? Yes!

Happy Reading!
Melissa 
Review coming next: 

FTC Disclosure: The Publisher/Author/Book Tour Company has provided me with a copy of this book for review or I have purchased the book with my own funds.  The opinion I share about the story are mine and have not been influenced by the The Publisher/Author/Book Tour Company if received for review.

Saturday, December 5, 2015

Review: Love You in December

For this review, I chose Love You in December by Olivia B. Dannon.

I received a copy of the ebook for a honest review of this book.

Here is a brief description from Goodreads:
Rachel and Angelo are just settling into the witness protection program. They’ve testified and now they are ready to get on with their new life in Peaches, Colorado. 
Only, life isn’t ready to let them settle. 
A new threat emerges with Angelo and Rachel living as William and Eileen as the target. Angelo, a trained hit man will do anything to keep Rachel safe and Rachel will do anything she can to help preserve the new life they have going. 
Someone is trying very hard to pull Angelo back into the killing game. The threat of exposing their identities yanks Angelo and Rachel into a game that can only end with someone dead. 
Take this hot, romantic and exciting leap with Angelo and Rachel to see if a hitman from New York and sweetheart from Ohio can over come a crazed killer and find their happily ever after.

I have not read anything by Olivia B. Dannon, but I am glad I did.  I wished I read the first book of this series (Heatwave).  I was missing some things that I think would have helped me.  

The reason I gave this book 4 stars is because the chapters to me were small and there were I think 50 chapters.  I thought I was never going to finish this book, but I love the love that is between Rachel and Angelo.  It is a love that fights to be together.  They would do anything to be together.

Rachel and Angelo are in the witness protection program.  They are living in Peaches, Colorado where their new life starts.  They are not Rachel and Angelo, but William and Eileen.  A new threat comes to get them, but with a lot of action and suspense we see how they get through this threat.


I want to read the first book of this series, Heatwave, and other books by this author.


☆☆☆☆
I give this book 4 out of 5 stars.
Would I recommend this book? Yes! Author? Yes!
Would I read more from this author? Yes!

Happy Reading!
Melissa 
Review coming next: A Chance of a Lifetime by Marilyn Pappano

FTC Disclosure: The Publisher/Author/Book Tour Company has provided me with a copy of this book for review or I have purchased the book with my own funds.  The opinion I share about the story are mine and have not been influenced by the The Publisher/Author/Book Tour Company if received for review.

Sunday, November 29, 2015

Review: Sly "Bullhorn" Brodsky, Offensive Line

For this review, I chose Sly "Bullhorn" Brodsky, Offensive Line by Jean C. Joachim in the First and Ten Series (Book #5).

I received a copy of the ebook for a honest review of this book.

Here is a brief description from Goodreads:
Sly “Bullhorn” Brodsky wished winning the heart of Samantha Drake was as easy as protecting his quarterback. A top offensive lineman in the NFL, Bull tried to live down his rep as a womanizer. Locker room chatter had elevated him to the level of “player” in more than football. But Samantha Drake, dark-haired, stunning sister of a teammate, didn’t want to have anything to do with him. Or did she? 
On his best behavior, Bull pulled out all the stops to woo the reluctant beauty. He was making progress until a woman from his past reappeared. Tiffany, the one woman who broke his heart, is in trouble. Is Bull the only man who can help?
Samantha is overcoming her doubts about Bull until Tiffany arrives. Is the blonde really in hot water or does she just want another chance with the man she discarded? 
Enjoy the return of your favorite First & Ten characters in this book, too. Surprises, twists, and football action scenes will keep you turning the pages.



I love this series.  Jean did it again.  Very well written and the characters flowed off of the pages.  Once again, I could not stop reading (unless I had to).

Sly and Sam have met through her brother and fellow team mate, but he does not approve of them being together.  I think her brother did not see the real Sly that Sam saw.  

My favorite part of this book (besides the end) was the Thanksgiving dinner where all the team mates and their family and friends gather to be thankful for what they have.  I read this book right before Thanksgiving so it was a perfect reminder what I have to be thankful for.

I hope there are more books in this series.


☆☆☆☆☆
I give this book 5 out of 5 stars.
Would I recommend this book? Yes! Author? Yes!
Would I read more from this author? Yes!

Happy Reading!
Melissa 
Review coming next: Love You in December by Olivia B. Dannon

FTC Disclosure: The Publisher/Author/Book Tour Company has provided me with a copy of this book for review or I have purchased the book with my own funds.  The opinion I share about the story are mine and have not been influenced by the The Publisher/Author/Book Tour Company if received for review.

Wednesday, November 25, 2015

Review: My Kind of Wonderful

For this review, I chose My Kind of Wonderful by Jill Shalvis.

I requested ARC copy of the ebook through Netgalley in exchanged for a honest review.

Here is a brief description from Goodreads:
UNEXPECTED AND UNDENIABLE...

Bailey Moore has an agenda: skiing in the Rockies, exploring castles in Europe, ballroom dancing in Argentina. Now that she has a second lease on life, she's determined not to miss a thing. What she doesn't realize is that item #1 comes with a six-foot-one ski god hot enough to melt a polar ice cap. She doesn't want to miss out on him either, but Hudson Kincaid isn't the type of guy to love and let go. And as gorgeous as Cedar Ridge is, she's not planning to stick around.

As head of ski patrol at his family's resort, Hud thinks he's seen it all. But never has he run into someone like Bailey. She might look delicate, but her attitude is all firecracker. And her infectious joy touches something deep within him that he's been missing far too long. Now he'll just have to convince Bailey to take a chance on her biggest adventure yet . . . something rare and all kinds of wonderful.
 


I have read the first book in the Cedar Ridge series and I knew I would love this book.  The first book is called Second Chance Summer.

Hudson takes care of those around him, but all he does is work as a cop and in charge of the Search and Rescue team.  He feels guilt about his mom's illness and about his twin brother's leaving.  When will Hudson allow love in his life?

Bailey has been through so much.  For 10 years, Bailey battled for her life.  She wants more than anything passion that knocks you up against the wall.  She takes a job to paint a mural on the weekends while working during the week as a graphic designer.  Will Bailey find her passion?

I can not wait to read book #3, Nobody But You, about Hudson's Twin brother, Jacob.


☆☆☆☆☆
I give this book 5 out of 5 stars.
Would I recommend this book? Yes! Author? Yes!
Would I read more from this author? Yes!

Happy Reading!
Melissa 
Review coming next: Sly "Bullhorn" Brodsky, Offensive Line by Jean C. Joachim

FTC Disclosure: The Publisher/Author/Book Tour Company has provided me with a copy of this book for review or I have purchased the book with my own funds.  The opinion I share about the story are mine and have not been influenced by the The Publisher/Author/Book Tour Company if received for review.

Review: A SEAL Forever

For this review, I chose A SEAL Forever by Anne Elizabeth.

I requested ARC copy of the ebook through Netgalley in exchanged for a honest review.

Here is a brief description from Goodreads:
Special Operator Declan Smith was a dedicated U.S. Navy SEAL, a known player, and daredevil who loved pushing the limits. But on his last mission, an IED leaves him injured and angry as hell—and it changes everything. 

When a loud crash disturbs his neighbor, Maura Maxwell, she assumes the sailor next door is up to his usual bad behavior. But the man she finds covered in glass is far from the cocky ladies' man she'd grown to tolerate. Lying before her is a man fighting to rediscover his place in the world—and he can't do it alone.


This book is in the West Coast Navy SEALs series.  This is Book #4.  I hope I have the names of the first 3 books below correct.  I was a little confused with the earlier books. 

Book #1- A SEAL at Heart.
Book #2- Once a SEAL
Book #3- The Kiss of a SEAL

Maura Maxwell lives next door to SEAL Declan Smith.   Maura is shy.  She is a Parkour Instructor.  Both Declan and Maura have a lot in common, but her shyness keeps getting in the way until one fateful day.  I am not going to say what because it is not in the description, but it is BIG.

Maura does not give up on Declan when he returns home injured.  Declan learns to lean on Maura.  When you need help, it is hard to say it, but those around us want to help.  Declan learns this about Maura.  His whole SEAL Team is there to help him through this new transition in his life.

This was my first book I have read by this author.  I want to read the first 3 books in this series and other books.


☆☆☆☆☆
I give this book 5 out of 5 stars.
Would I recommend this book? Yes! Author? Yes!
Would I read more from this author? Yes!

Happy Reading!
Melissa 
Review coming next: 

FTC Disclosure: The Publisher/Author/Book Tour Company has provided me with a copy of this book for review or I have purchased the book with my own funds.  The opinion I share about the story are mine and have not been influenced by the The Publisher/Author/Book Tour Company if received for review.
Here is a brief description from Goodreads:


☆☆☆☆☆
I give this book 5 out of 5 stars.
Would I recommend this book? Yes! Author? Yes!
Would I read more from this author? Yes!

Happy Reading!
Melissa 
Review coming next: My Kind of Wonderful by Jill Shalvis

FTC Disclosure: The Publisher/Author/Book Tour Company has provided me with a copy of this book for review or I have purchased the book with my own funds.  The opinion I share about the story are mine and have not been influenced by the The Publisher/Author/Book Tour Company if received for review.

Review: Desert Heat

For this review, I chose Desert Heat by P.H. Turner.

I received a copy of the ebook for a honest review of this book.

Here is a brief description from Goodreads:
Navajo Witchery. Human Treachery.

Social worker Jordan Bia finds a child who escaped her captors and a life in the sex trade, but four other girls from her small Mexican village were not so lucky. Smugglers hide their human cargo in the hoodoos of a remote canyon on the reservation—a place the Navajo shun, fearful of the witches who practice their black rituals and feast on the dark energy of evil. Mysterious rites, omens of death, and bodies litter the canyon. 

When she meets Navajo police officer Sam Tohee, sparks fly fueled by the danger of hunting men who buy and sell little girls. Techno savvy Jordan plots to trap the smugglers and free the rest of the children, but unless she and Sam can find the power to defeat the witches she may not live long enough to save the girls.



This is the second book in The Nation Series.  Once again, I was intrigued by the description of this book.  One thing I love that this book is full with a lot. I love the mystery in it.  Romance.  Murder.  Suspense.  Navajo Legend.  Human Trafficing.

Jordan is a social worker and she finds a child, who escaped her captors and from the sex trade.  Sam is a Navajo Cop.


☆☆☆☆
I give this book 4 out of 5 stars.
Would I recommend this book? Yes! Author? Yes!
Would I read more from this author? Yes!

Happy Reading!
Melissa 
Review coming next: A SEAL Forever by Anne Elizabeth

FTC Disclosure: The Publisher/Author/Book Tour Company has provided me with a copy of this book for review or I have purchased the book with my own funds.  The opinion I share about the story are mine and have not been influenced by the The Publisher/Author/Book Tour Company if received for review.

Waiting on Wednesday: My Kind of Wonderful

This week's Waiting on Wednesday pick for me is:
My Kind of Wonderful by Jill Shalvis
Publication Date: December 22, 2015.

I loved the first book in this series (Second Chance Summer) and I knew I had to read this book, too.  When I saw this book was being offered on Netgalley, I knew I had to request it.  My review will be sometime today.  
Melissa

Here is a brief description from Goodreads:
UNEXPECTED AND UNDENIABLE...

Bailey Moore has an agenda: skiing in the Rockies, exploring castles in Europe, ballroom dancing in Argentina. Now that she has a second lease on life, she's determined not to miss a thing. What she doesn't realize is that item #1 comes with a six-foot-one ski god hot enough to melt a polar ice cap. She doesn't want to miss out on him either, but Hudson Kincaid isn't the type of guy to love and let go. And as gorgeous as Cedar Ridge is, she's not planning to stick around.

As head of ski patrol at his family's resort, Hud thinks he's seen it all. But never has he run into someone like Bailey. She might look delicate, but her attitude is all firecracker. And her infectious joy touches something deep within him that he's been missing far too long. Now he'll just have to convince Bailey to take a chance on her biggest adventure yet . . . something rare and all kinds of wonderful.
 

Friday, November 20, 2015

Review: Backwards Christmas

For this review, I chose Backwards Christmas by Brooke Williams.

I received a copy of the ebook for a honest review of this book.

Here is a brief description from Goodreads:
Local tour guide Noelle Richards loves everything Backwards Christmas has to offer in South Pole, Alaska. She gets wrapped up in the upside down trees, taking presents TO Santa Clause and all the festivities. Sled dog trainer Chris Furst, on the other hand, approaches the holiday with nothing but skepticism. When their history bubbles into the present, their difference of opinion comes to a head. When Chris gets himself into a dangerous situation in the snow, Noelle and the hope of Christ are his only hope for redemption

Noelle Richardson loves Christmas.  Her hometown of South Pole, Alaska does everything with Christmas backwards.  Chris Furst hates everything about Christmas.  His reason for him hating everything Christmas is nothing he took lightly.  It changed everything in his life- how he looks at everything.

This was a quick read.  Noelle is a sweet woman, who loves her hometown and Christmas.  Her love for Jesus is even bigger.  She tells us readers the true meaning of Christmas.  I agree with her completely, but a Backwards Christmas is not something I have done and I would not want to.  It was nice to read about how things are done differently in South Pole, Alaska.


☆☆☆☆
I give this book 4 out of 5 stars.
Would I recommend this book? Yes! Author? Yes!
Would I read more from this author? Yes!

Happy Reading!
Melissa 
Review coming next: Desert Heat by P.H. Turner

FTC Disclosure: The Publisher/Author/Book Tour Company has provided me with a copy of this book for review or I have purchased the book with my own funds.  The opinion I share about the story are mine and have not been influenced by the The Publisher/Author/Book Tour Company if received for review.